Driving While Suspended

If you were issued a ticket for Driving While Suspended, it should be taken very seriously in the State of Missouri. If you pay the ticket, you will be convicted and 12 points will be assessed against your driving record. In addition, your license will be revoked for one year.

Most people don’t realize that Driving While Suspended is a misdemeanor charge, and thus a criminal offense. For a first time conviction, you are subject to a $300 fine. For second and third convictions, you are subject to one year in jail and a $1000 fine. For a fourth and subsequent conviction within a ten-year period, you will be charged with a Felony D.

Reasons Why Your License May Be Suspended

The attorneys at Miller & Hine will call the Department of Revenue (DOR) on your behalf for FREE to determine what caused your license to become suspended. We will also check to see if you are eligible for reinstatement. Since it is important to understand why your license was suspended, we have listed below some of the most common reasons for suspension.

Points Non-Alcohol Moving Violations

(Speeding, stop sign, careless driving, etc.)

If you accumulate 8 points or more in 18 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days. If you’ve previously had your driver’s license suspended for accumulating too many points, you’ll lose your driving privileges for 60 days on the second suspension and 90 days on any subsequent suspensions.

If you accumulate 12 points or more in 12 months, 18 points or more in 24 months, or 24 points or more in 36 months, your Missouri driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year.

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • File proof of liability insurance form (SR-22)
  • Loss of driver’s license for one year or more (revocation), retake the complete driver’s exam

Failure To Appear In Court
(Missing a court date or an unpaid traffic ticket in Missouri or another state)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • Proof of compliance (form showing payment or appearance from Missouri Court, or if out-of-state, from the out-of-state agency). These suspensions (loss of license) may be reinstated at any Department of Revenue branch or fee office.

Points Alcohol-Related Moving Violations
(DWI, BAC, manslaughter)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $45
  • File proof of liability insurance form (SR-22)
  • File proof you completed a SATOP program
  • Loss of driver’s license for one year or more (revocation), retake the complete driver’s exam

Zero Tolerance Or Administrative Alcohol
(The Director of Revenue takes away your license for driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .10% or more, or if you are under age 21 for driving with a BAC of .02 to .099%)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $45
  • File proof of liability insurance form (SR-22). Proof of liability insurance is not required for first-time suspension for driving with .02% to .099%.

Refusal For Not Taking Alcohol Or Drug Test
(Refusal to submit to a BAC test under Missouri’s implied consent law)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $45
  • File proof you completed a SATOP program

Abuse & Lose
(Court ordered loss of license for alcohol or drug related convictions)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $45
  • File proof you completed a SATOP program

Motor Vehicle Accident Judgment
(Failure to pay a court judgment in an automobile accident)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • Pay full amount the court ordered or enter a payment plan
  • File proof of liability insurance form (SR-22)

Security Accident
(How much money you owe in damages from an accident)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • File your bond, money, or proof that you paid or settled the accident with the bureau

Failure To File Accident Report

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • File an accident report with the bureau (form DOR-1140)

Out-Of-State Accident

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • File reinstatement (clearance) letter from other state

Mandatory Insurance
(Failure to have insurance)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • 1st Offense – Pay $200
  • 2nd Offense – Pay $400
  • 3rd Offense – Pay $800
  • File proof of liability insurance form (SR-22). You must pay late surrender fees if your driver’s license and plates are not surrendered within 30 days from suspension (loss) date. ($25 for each 30 days not surrendered up to a $300 maximum)

Failure To Maintain Insurance

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • Refile insurance with the bureau

Child Support Arrears Suspension
(Failure to pay child support)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • File proof of compliance (order from the court or agency that ordered loss of license telling the director to give the license back)

Citations
(When Director of Revenue requires testing: medical, written, and driving tests)

License Reinstatement Requirements:

  • Pay $20
  • Pass required tests

CDL Revocation, Ignition Interlock, Misrepresentation Revocations, Or School Bus Permit Suspension

License Reinstatement Requirement:

  • Pay $20

 

What We Do To Help Reinstate Your License
  • Call the DOR to find out why your license is suspended (FREE of charge)
  • Find out how to get your license reinstated
  • Help you get reinstated
  • Amend (or reduce) your ticket to a lesser offense
  • Once amended, you keep your license

Limited Driving Privilege (LDP)

In certain situations, if your Missouri driving privilege is suspended, revoked, or denied and is not currently eligible for reinstatement—but you need to drive for employment or other important matters—you may be eligible for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). Some people refer to this as a “hardship license.”

The LDP, if granted, will allow you to drive a motor vehicle in certain pre-approved situations. However, if you have specific types of convictions or administrative actions on your driver record, you may not be eligible to receive an LDP.

Call Today For Help Reinstating Your License

If you received a ticket for Driving While Suspended, the attorneys at Miller & Hine are here to help guide you through the reinstatement process in order to reinstate your driver’s license or help you obtain an LDP. Call us FREE of charge today to find out why your license is suspended and what we can do to help.